Tommy Thompson Award

The Tommy Thompson Award for Nuclear Safety is presented annually to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of nuclear installations safety.  The award is named in honor of Professor Theos J. (Tommy) Thompson of MIT, who made outstanding contributions to nuclear reactor safety, including being the principal author of a pioneering textbook on the subject.

George C. Laurence Award

The George C. Laurence Award for Pioneering Contributions to Nuclear Safety is presented in honor of Dr. George C. Laurence who was one of the pioneers in the Canadian nuclear program and who showed remarkable insight by early introducing the risk-informed concept and establishing it, in his capacity of President of the Atomic Energy Control Board, as an integral part of the Canadian nuclear safety regulatory system.  The George C. Laurence Award is given occasionally based on the availability of qualified candidates.


The selection process is a two-step procedure, namely:
(1) a preliminary screening based on the brief description of the candidate’s accomplishments submitted by the nominator;
(2) a more in-depth selection from those candidates who passed the initial screening.  This latter process requires submission of a number of letters of recommendation stating the reasons why the candidate is qualified for the award.

How to apply
ANS members are invited to nominate candidates for the above-mentioned awards.  To be considered for 2020 awards, nominations should be received prior to December 1, 2019 and should be accompanied by a brief description of each candidate’s accomplishments.  Candidates are not required to be members of ANS, nor are they required to be residents or citizens of the USA.


Please send nominations to: Phillip Ellison at