Awards and Honors

Nomination of Candidates for Tommy Thompson and George C. Laurence Awards
The Tommy Thompson Award for Nuclear Safety is presented annually to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of nuclear installations safety.  The award is named in honor of Professor Theos J. (Tommy) Thompson of MIT, who made outstanding contributions to nuclear reactor safety, including being the principal author of a pioneering textbook on the subject.

The George C. Laurence Award for Pioneering Contributions to Nuclear Safety is presented in honor of Dr. George C. Laurence who was one of the pioneers in the Canadian nuclear program and who showed remarkable insight by early introducing the risk-informed concept and establishing it, in his capacity of President of the Atomic Energy Control Board, as an integral part of the Canadian nuclear safety regulatory system.  The George C. Laurence Award is given occasionally based on the availability of qualified candidates.   ANS members are invited to nominate candidates for the above-mentioned awards.  To be considered for 2014 awards, nominations should be received prior to December 1, 2013 and should be accompanied by a brief description of each candidate’s accomplishments.  Candidates are not required to be members of ANS, nor are they required to be residents or citizens of the USA.

The selection process is a two-step procedure, namely:

(1) a preliminary screening based on the brief description of the candidate’s accomplishments submitted by the nominator;
(2) a more in-depth selection from those candidates who passed the initial screening.  This latter process requires submission of a number of letters of recommendation stating the reasons why the candidate is qualified for the award.

Please send nominations to: Phillip Ellison at

2011 Tommy Thompson Award for Nuclear Safety
Dr. Michael L. Corradini was award the 2011 Tommy Thompson award.  Mike received the award during the Honors and Awards Luncheon at the 2011 winter meeting.  Dr. Corradini was one of 18 individuals who were nominated in 2011 to receive this award.

2011 George C. Laurence Award for Nuclear Safety
Dr. Hans K. Fauske was awarded the George C. Laurence award for 2011.  Hans received the George C. Laurence Award during the Spring 2012 meeting in Chicago.